Super League: Wigan Warriors 24-10 Hull FC


Liam Marshall gave Wigan a perfect start with two tries in the first 12 minutes in Wollongong
Betfred Super League
Wigan Warriors (12) 24
Tries: Marshall 2, Sutton, Flower Goals: S Tomkins 4
Hull FC (10) 10
Tries: Talanoa, Abdull Goal: Sneyd

Wigan Warriors claimed a historic win over Hull FC in the first Super League match to be played outside Europe.

The Warriors maintained their 100% start to the 2018 season in humid conditions in Wollongong, Australia.

Sam Tomkins’ penalty gave Wigan a two-point lead at half-time after Hull duo Fetuli Talanoa and Jordan Abdull had replied to Liam Marshall’s two tries.

Ryan Sutton’s score forged an eight-point lead and fellow prop Ben Flower powered over late on to seal victory.

Hull lost winger Bureta Faraimo to a head knock in the first two minutes and Marshall exploited that gap perfectly, twice running in to score from 50 metres.

Talanoa, who scored a hat-trick in Hull’s opening-day win over Huddersfield, acrobatically touched down to start the comeback.

However, the Black and Whites also lost influential captain Danny Houghton to injury at half-time and their tiring players were unable to register any points in the second period.

Why Australia?

It is hoped the tour will increase Australian interest in Super League, as well as opening up sponsorship and partnership opportunities for the clubs involved.

Wigan and Hull are staying in Australia to play against two National Rugby League sides in challenge matches in Sydney on Saturday, 17 February.

The Warriors will play South Sydney Rabbitohs, while Hull will take on St George Illawarra Dragons.

Before that, Super League champions Leeds Rhinos face NRL Grand Final winners Melbourne Storm in the 2018 World Club Challenge on Friday, 16 February (09:00 GMT). BBC Sport will be providing live text commentary of the match online and on the BBC Sport app.

Wigan: S Tomkins; Davies, Sarginson, Gildart, Marshall; Williams, Powell; Clubb, Leuluai, Flower, J Tomkins, Farrell, O’Loughlin.

Replacements: Sutton, Tautai, Isa, Escare.

Hull: Shaul; Faraimo, Connor, Griffin, Talanoa; Kelly, Sneyd; Taylor, Houghton, Paea, Manu, Minichiello, Hadley.

Replacements: Abdull, Bowden, Watts, Washbrook.

Referee: Matt Cecchin.